Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Today I finally got my healthy groove back. I went through a bit of a food rut; I didn’t care about what I cooked and just did whatever was easiest. I also have been terribly inconsistent with working out; I started out the year running almost everyday (except weekends) and doing at-home workouts but when the snow and holidays came I quickly fell out of my work-out routine.

Well today I’m back on track! Even though I shouldn’t be adding on another monthly expense, I decided to join Balleys. It’s right by my work, so instead of sacrificing exercising every time I go visit the boyfriend in Delaware or when there’s terrible weather, I’m able to work out everyday during the week. Today I decided to take advantage of the free trainer session and did about 20 min on the elliptical. Even though the trainer obnoxiously tried to sell me 16 sessions or 4 sessions for 99.99 (yeaaaa right) I at least got some ideas for future workouts and learned how to use a bunch of the machines.

When I got home I was ready to get into the kitchen! I saw a recipe for chickpea soup but decided to do my own variation.

Chickpea Soup

Ingredients

1 can of chickpeas

3 cups of vegetable broth

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 carrots

half red onion

1 cup of mushrooms

2 pinches of cilantro

2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp cayenne

2 tbsp minced garlic

1 tbsp cumin

Directions

Chop up all the veggies. Cook carrots, onion, mushrooms, and garlic on the skillet in 2 tbsp of vegetable broth. Cook for about 5 minutes then add cumin. Puree chickpeas, apple cider vinegar, and 1 cup of vegetable broth in a blender. Add the pureed chickpea mix to the veggies along with the remaining vegetable stock. Cook the mixture until it boils, then reduce to simmer. Add the cayenne and garlic powder. Wait until carrots are nice and tender and then serve.

Baked Apple

I also attempted to make kale chips, but sadly set the oven to 350 instead of 275.. and my poor kale leaves burned to a crisp. So to make up for the kale chip fiasco, I decided to bake an apple for dessert. I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes, and afterwards cut the apple up and sprinkled it with cinnamon. Yum.

