Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

My junior year of college, one of my good friends stepped out of my door, paused, and exclaimed “Let’s go, day”. That pretty much describes how I approached everything I did today: my work, working out, chores, and cooking. The sun was out and I was ready to be productive!

Today at the gym I did an hour of cardio followed by a half hour of lifting weights with my legs. My cardio consisted of a walk/joginterval treadmill workout I created and 20 minutes of the elliptical with 10 resistance and varied high intervals. Afterwards I was tired but at the same time refreshed… I may not like it while I’m doing it but working out does a number for my mood.

 

Beginner Treadmill Walking/Jogging Workout

Minutes Pace Incline
0-3 3.5 5
3-5 4 3
5-9 5 1
9-11 5.5 1
11-13 3.5 5
13-15 4 3
15-19 5.5 1
19-21 6 1
21-23 3.5 5
23-25 4 3
25-29 5.5 1
29-31 6.0 1
31-33 4 5
33-35 3.5 3

 

On the way home I was pondering what to cook for dinner and for some reason lentils kept popping up in my head. I then realized I had some leftover marinara that I should use up asap so with lentils and marinara as a base, I started to make my dinner. I cooked up a chicken sausage and chopped up some veggies and eventually out came my lentil creation! I was worried because I was kind of randomly throwing stuff together and have minimal experience cooking lentils. Buuuut it turned out flavorful and was pretty filling. Sadly I couldn’t get a picture because I left my phone charger at the bf’s and for some reason my camera isn’t working. Oh well, either way this is a recipe I’ll definitely use again.. maybe with some variation.

After dinner I’m just going to kickback and watch “Jersey Shore” while nom-noming on TJ’s Chile Spiced Dried Pineapple.

Lentil Marinara with Apple Chicken Sausage

Ingredients

1/2 cup of TJ’s Basil Marinara

1 Apple Chicken Sausage

1/2 cup of red lentils

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1 cup of vegetable broth

1 cup of spinach

1 cup of mushroooms

Directions

Put lentils and vegetable broth into a pot. Bring the pot to boil then set to medium heat for 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Meanwhile cook chicken sausage on the stove top until sides are slightly brown, remove from heat and chop into pieces. Combine lentils and broth, chopped chicken sausage, and remaining ingredients into a pot. Cook on medium heat for 10 minutes and stir. After 10 minutes, serve with a pinch of cilantro.

