Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Every weekday night I watch Jeopardy… and this week is extra exciting because a computer’s competing! And yes, this seriously excites me..

I missed the first night of Watson because the boyfriend and I went out for dinner for Valentine’s Day, which I guess is a good excuse 😉 . We went to the restaurant where we met, Homegrown. We shared pancetta-wrapped scallops with a balsamic glaze, and they were pretty great. The bf happens to be a vegetarian so I got to eat all of the pancetta… mmmm. For dinner I ordered their burger which came with guac and pepper jack cheese, seriously nothing makes me happier than a good burger. I could never be a vegetarian only because I love burgers that much. Anyway for dessert we shared a chocolate mousse cake.. I think I was full until dinner time tonight where I just made a big ‘ol bowl of pasta with my leftover TJ’s pasta sauce. Yum.

So maybe I lacked in creativity for dinner tonight, but this past weekend I decided to get inventive in the kitchen. I saw my friend Ashley‘s recipe for stuffed peppers and knew I had to do a stuffed pepper recipe of my own with quinoa. Then after a quick trip to the grocery store (and an unnecessary blackberry pie purchase) I was ready to cook! My creation was filling, nutritious, and delicious… although next time I will probably add some sort of leafy green to the inside (kale or spinach maybe?).

Coconut Quinoa Stuffed Peppers with Goat Cheese


Ingredients

1 cup of quinoa

1 cup of water

1 cup of lite coconut milk

2 red peppers

1/4 cup of goat cheese

2 tbsp of flax seed

1/2 cup of dried pomegranate seeds

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400. Take the peppers, cut off their tops and take out the inner cores. Boil one pot of coconut milk, water, and quinoa. When it is done boiling set to medium heat and let it simmer for 15 minutes. Drain quinoa and put it into a bowl. Combine quinoa, flax seed, and pomegranate seeds. Fill both peppers with the mixture, and then sprinkle the tops with goat cheese. Put the stuffed peppers into the oven and cook for 20 minutes. Take out and feast on that peppah.



