Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

… with brussel sprouts!

I remember loving them when I was little, and I honestly haven’t had them in forever! Because I’m running really low on food/I try not to waste I knew it was now or never to eat my brussel sprouts. I tried looking at various food blogs and googled some recipes but nothing really stuck out to me… plus a majority of them called for tons of butter and oil. Both of which I am trying to avoid. So I decided to come up with a recipe of my own using sprouts, my food processor (best christmas present ever), and CANNED wild alaskan salmon. This was also the first time I have ever tried canned salmon, I usually try to steer clear from most canned fishies (except anchovies) because they creep me out but TJ’s wild alaskan salmon in a can is A-Ok in my book. I made two recipes: one for dinner and a salad for lunch.

Sauteed Brussel Sprouts with Canned Salmon

Ingredients

1/4 lb of brussel sprouts

3 tbsp of red wine vinegar

3 tbsp of vegetable broth

1 tsp of cayenne pepper

2 tsp of garlic powder

2 tsp of lemon pepper

1/2 can of wild alaskan salmon

Directions

Chop up brussel sprouts in the food processor. Pour vegetable broth into skillet. Add brussel sprouts and cook for 5 minutes on medium heat. Then add the red wine vinegar, spices, and salmon. Cook for another 5 minutes on medium heat until salmon is warm. Remove from heat and serve. Sprinkle with parmesan.

Brussel Sprouts Salad

Ingredients

3 tbsp of apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp of honey

1 tbsp of dijon mustard

1/4 lb of brussel sprouts

2 tbsp of flax seed

1/2 cup of canned salmon

1/4 cup of dried pomegranate seeds

Directions

Chop up brussel sprouts in the food processor. Put the shredded brussel sprouts into a bowl and toss with flax seed, canned salmon, and pomegranate seeds. Set aside. Combine apple cider vinegar, honey, and dijon mustard in a bowl. Stir until all the ingredients are completely blended. Pour the dressing over the brussel sprouts and other ingredients. Toss it up and eat! Sadly I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to eat this… doesn’t mean I didn’t have a bite or two ;).

Today’s Workout

So I was able to go to the gym today and I decided to do some serious cardio. I got on the treadmill and ran 2.5 miles at around a 5.5- 6 pace. By the end I was super gross/dying but hey that’s progress. I then hopped on the elliptical for 35 minutes for a FitSugar workout. Afterwards I ended my workout did some arms- weight lifting machines and some stretching.

I got the elliptical workout from FitSugar… but the pace they had everything set to was really fast.. and sadly I am not at that fitness level yet. Here’s my modified version

Beginner’s Butt Elliptical Workout


