Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

So it’s been awhile since my last blog. I went to DC to visit family and friends and had a wonderful time. Got to fill up on some Chipotle (their vegetarian option is not only the cheapest BUT it includes GUAC!) and Sweet Green, probably my favorite place on Earth. Not only are all their fruits and veggies organic and from local farmers but their froyo is fantastic. I got it twice… both times with peach butter, walnuts, and cinnamon apples.

if you’re ever in DC make sure to stop by!

Moving on… I’ve been eating pretty horrendously recently. My weekends are the worst as far as my diet goes: my portions are too large and the food I’m eating isn’t the most nutritious. This weekend wasn’t too terrible.. except for the fact that my ravioli portion sizes were ridiculous, and the bf and I splurged on some bar food.

When I came back I went grocery shopping (list is coming up) and spent up all of my food stamps… although to be fair, I didn’t have as much because I used a bunch for events like the Superbowl and Valentine’s. So last night I was surrounded by all of these groceries but instead I decided I needed something quick and delicious. I cooked up some of TJ’s Vegetable Gyoza and my last apple chicken sausage, sprinkled some TJ’s low sodium soy sauce, and that was dinner. For dessert I sprinkled half of a grapefruit with cinnamon and broiled it in the toaster oven for 8 minutes. Popped it out and ate it.

After I ate I got an idea:I’ve been dying to try overnight oats, so why not make them for tomorrow. I saw what I had in my pantry, put some stuff together, threw it in the fridge, and hoped for the best. I took them out of the fridge the next day and brought them to work and wow… I’m going to need to eat these more often! I thought the texture would creep me out as well as the cold temperature (I’m weird about food’s temperatures) but it was really really good.

Last night another idea came to me:The Baba Ghanoush I bought apparently expires on the 24th so I knew I had to use a bunch of it.. so why not in an egg salad? So I’m happy to report that today has been great thanks to my prep work last night.. both the overnight oats and egg salad sandwich were a complete success and I couldn’t be  happier!

Berry Dericious Overnight Oats

Ingredients

1/2 cup of whole wheat rolled oats

1/2 cup of unsweetened organic soy milk

2 prunes (chopped up)

1 tbsp of flax seed

1/4 scoop of Chocolate Amazing Grass

1/4 cup of frozen berries

Directions

Combine all of the ingredients in a container. Store in the fridge. Take out the next day and eat.

 

Simple Baba Ghanoush Egg Salad Sandwich

Ingredients

2 slices of TJ’s whole wheat rustico bread

1 egg

1 tbsp of Greek yog

1 tbsp of Baba Ghanoush

1 dash of cayenne

1/2 cup of spinach

Directions

Place egg in a pot of water (make sure it is pretty much immersed in the water). Set to boil. After it boils let it cook on medium for a couple of minutes. Remove from heat and let the egg in the water cool. When the egg has been hardboiled, remove it from its shell and place in a bowl. Add the greek yog, cayenne, and baba and mash it all together. Toast the two slices of bread, spread the egg salad, add the spinach. Enjoy.

 

