Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Seriously the St. Patrick’s Day celebrations refuse to end! This past weekend was yet another all day event complete with green beer and good friends. The downfall? Beer isn’t exactly diet friendly and when you’re out all day…you eat out. Luckily I ordered a veggie burger on a whole wheat bun with a side salad so that’s not exactly anything to fret about. But the next day I wasn’t feeling too hot so we ordered pizza (veggie with white sauce on a whole wheat crust). So my lent promises kind of went out the window this past weekend. But…. it’s looking like this weekend will be a calm, nice weekend complete with tons of eating in! I also haven’t felt up to working out these past few days (terrible stomach pains) so I’ve had to slice my calorie intake… luckily my appetite hasn’t been very high.

But last night/today I got it together. The bf and I cooked some salmon last night which was delicious. Just a simple dill sauce and some salmon filets. Today I made eggplant parm once again because I needed to use the rest of the tomato sauce. But for lunch tomorrow made myself a nice veggie quesadilla with chicken sausage on the side and for breakfast, I made pumpkin quinoa muffins. They’re pretty delicious and moist, but not very sweet (good for me maybe not good for some). My only complaint would be that I needed to add some kind of dried fruit (sadly I hate raisins and am out of craisins) to add some more texture and flavor.

Pumpkin Quinoa Muffins (Adapted from Carrots and Cake)

Ingredients

1 cup of whole wheat flour

2 tsps vanilla extract

1/4 cup of brown sugar

2 tbsp smart balance light butter

1/2 can of pureed pumpkin

1/3 cup of chopped almonds

1/2 cup of cooked quinoa

1 egg

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine ingredients in a bowl. Pour the mixture into muffin trays. Cook for 25 minutes. Take out and let them cool. Spread some butta or something else if you need a little extra something ;). Makes around 12, Save the rest for breakfast!

