Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Within the past 24 hours I’ve been invited to three March Madness pools. I’m pretty excited; it gives me a reason to watch college basketball and do the occasional trash-talking with my friends ;). Only problem is I have no idea what I’m doing… I’ve done brackets before but I’m not exactly the authority on college basketball. This morning I was enjoying a muffin snack and blueberry tea while I tried to figure out my work bracket. I did my other two yesterday… I decided my strategy will be to make all three of mine different, that way I’ll improve my odds? Let’s hope so!

Now onto what’s really important…Da FoOdz.

It’s that time of the month right before I go grocery shopping where I’m scrambling to finish things before they go bad and don’t go to waste. What’s this month’s food rescue operation: Tortillas, mushrooms, spinach, goat cheese,  and chicken sausages. I have around 10 tortillas left and need to use all of them because they’re starting to get a little stale (and they were supposed to expire a couple of days ago). Also my mushrooms, spinach, goat cheese, and chicken sausages need to be used asap (although I should probably just freeze the chicken sausages). For lunch I made a quesadilla with my flax whole grain tortillas, 1/4 cup of TJ’s light sharp cheddar, spinach, and mushrooms. Packed that along with a grilled chicken sausage and a little bit of black bean salsa. My guesstimate would be that the meal was probably around 350 calories… give or take a few. Most importantly it was satisfying and nutritious.

