Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Today I DID IT! I ran 3 miles, no stopping. I know to most people this doesn’t sound like much but to me it IS. I am NOT a runner; I am NOT athletic. One of my goals for leading a healthier lifestyle has been to participate in an actual running race. It’d be nice to be able to accomplish something athletic. It’s been a struggle because I find myself getting discouraged frequently; so many of the blogs I read have these women who can run 5 miles+ no sweat. Also my friends seem to run with ease, even after they haven’t worked out for months. For me it’s not easy, and I’m still pretty slow. I actually refuse to run with the bf (who’s one of those people who can up and run 5 miles) until I feel fully confident that I can run at a good pace. My goal is to be ready for a 5k by April 16; there’s a 5k for Clean Air in Philly for only 30 bucks so I feel like it’s the perfect opportunity to get my feet wet. Hopefully the fact that I’ve been training on a treadmill won’t completely hinder my performance. I know it’s better to run outside, but I happen to live in a pretty bad area and it’s dark by the time I get home/I never feel like up and running after work and the 40 minute drive. Well, hopefully come April 16th I won’t make an ass out of myself and actually complete my FIRST race.

http://www.5krunforcleanair.org/

After my run, I hopped on the elliptical for 30 minutes of high intervals and increasing resistance to give myself a nice rear-end/thigh workout. I don’t focus as much on speed on the elliptical as much as strength and endurance, and it helps when I have a Cooking Light magazine to leaf through while going at it. When I finished on the elliptical, I ran around the gym using various weight machines working out my twiggy arms. Since I started working out my arms have already started toning up, but it’d be great to see more definition. After two hours, I scooted my butt into my car and headed home because I was STARVING.

Tonight I decided to keep with the tortilla theme. I made a sort of rueben burger with a whole wheat tortilla, chopped up turkey burger, mushrooms, saurkraut, TJ’s sweet/hot mustard, and some goat cheese. I kid you not this thing was out of this world! SO good! A little messy but wow… definitely a repeat, for sure. Sadly no can do for lunch tomorrow, gotta use up some leftover refried beans! I may try combining the beans with saurkraut… in some kind of weird burrito. We’ll see.

I also tackled roasted brussel sprouts. I googled recipes all over and decided I could just throw a bunch of stuff on them and hope for the best. I’d make them again but they were completely overshadowed by my wrap/nowhere near as good. Here’s the recipe I used in case you’d like to give a try.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients

1 package of brussel sprouts

1 tbsp of olive oil

1/2 tbsp of sea salt

1/2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar

2 tsps lemon pepper

2 tsps garlic powder

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400. Cut the ends of the brussel sprouts and then cut them in half. Toss the brussel sprouts with the rest of the ingredients. Put into a pam sprayed-pan. Pop in the oven for 30 minutes. Take out and munch away.

