Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

I don’t think I’ve shared one of my weaknesses: the McDonald’s Shamrock Shake. Yes yes yes I’m fully aware of how gross McDonald’s is, but I can’t resist the creamy goodness of the Shamrock Shake (or the Big Mac sauce.. but that’s another story). Because I gave up fast food AND sweets for lent, the Shamrock Shake is a no-go. I’m also trying to forbid McDonald’s completely from my diet, which isn’t hard considering I have it maybe once every six months. But St. Patrick’s Day makes me think of the shake more than anything, probably because I hate all other foods associated with St. Patrick’s. Despite my Irish heritage I can’t stand any of the foods and the fact that I’m not a big meat eater doesn’t help. So the only food I enjoyed with this time of the year was my dearest Shamrock Shake; you are missed my friend.

This morning for breakfast I decided to try and make a healthy green monster version of my Sham Shake. The result? I mean it was good, but next time I’ll substitute mint leaves instead of peppermint extract. I only went with the extract to avoid wasting a bunch of mint leaves. Also it still was nowhere near as creamy and sweet as the Sham Shake, but i figured that would happen. Had I used vanilla froyo maybe it could have been done, but sadly that doesn’t fit in with my lent promises. But hey, give it a try if you want a green and nutritious boost to your morning. I would have something else as well, although it’s filling it’s not quite filling enough for breakfast (I had another pumpkin quinoa muffin).

Green Monster Shamrock Smoothie

Ingredients

1 cup of spinach

1 cup of vanilla almond milk

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1 chopped up frozen banana

1/2 tsp of peppermint extract (do not do a full tsp, ick too pepperminty)

Directions

In the following order, place in the blender: spinach, bananas, almond milk, vanilla extract, and peppermint extract. Blend until smooth. Drink it up!

And for more green monster recipes, check out: http://greenmonstermovement.com/

Now back to my tortilla struggle…. I still have SO many left! For dinner last night I made a delicious quinoa burrito. It was filling and flavorful, and it took maaaybe 3 seconds to make. I paired it with a couple of celery sticks and black bean salsa (desperately trying to eat my celery too). I even made another one for lunch today (along with a celery stalk/peanutbutter), took no effort. Give it a try! And I apologize for the classy paper plate/bad pic (photography/using a real camera are things I need to embrace still).

Quinoa Black Bean Burrito

Ingredients

Almost 1/2 can of TJ’s Refried Black Beans with Jalapenos (you can change the amount, it’s up to you!)

1 serving of Chevre Goat Cheese

1/2 serving of cooked Quinoa (so about 1/4 cup cooked)

1 tortilla

2 tsps of hot sauce

3/4 cup of mushrooms

2 tbsp of veggie broth

Directions

Cook quinoa (see box for details). Meanwhile in a skillet, combine black beans, broth, and mushrooms. Cook for around 5 minutes or until warm. Place cooked quinoa, cheese, and bean-mushroom mixture in the tortilla and sprinkle with hot sauce. See, easy-peezy.


