Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

So today at the gym I did it: I ran a 5k!! I was able to turn my bad mood into motivation to run faster and faster until i hit the 3.1 mile mark; it was a great feeling. I followed the 5k with 35 minutes on the elliptical, and then came home and did a biggest loser sculpting workout at level 2.

I decided to treat myself after my workout to muffins. As I was making them, a MOUSE ran on my foot. I screamed and dropped a bunch of stuff on the floor. I then decided to just finish the muffins and have some dumplings for dinner and call it a night. After I already made my muffins, my roommates came in and informed me that they had cleaned the oven out with chemicals yesterday and had yet to clean out the oven… good thing I ALREADY ate three muffins. Crossing my fingers I’m not poisoned… To be continued?

Some more exciting news: I went to Emergen C’s website awhile ago and filled out a form for free samples, and they came in! So after tomorrow’s grocery store trip I’ll be giving those bad boys a try.

Berry Oat Muffins  (Update: They aren’t poisonous)

Ingredients

1 cup of whole wheat flour

1 cup of rolled oats

1/4 cup of apple sauce

2 tsps of vanilla

1 cup of TJ’s frozen mixed berries

1 egg

2 tsps baking powder

1 tbsp of agave

1 cup of water or almond milk

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375. In a bowl mix the oats and water, and let them sit for 5 minutes. In another bowl combine the flour and baking powder. In yet another bowl, whisk the egg and combine with the agave, vanilla extract, and apple sauce. Combine all the ingredients together and put into 12 muffin tins. Put in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Take them out and pray that your roommates didn’t just clean the oven.

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size 53 g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

76
Calories from Fat

5
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

0.5g
1%
Cholesterol

0mg
0%
Sodium

3mg
0%
Total Carbohydrates

16.0g
5%
Dietary Fiber

1.3g
5%
Sugars

1.3g
Protein

2.0g
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 4%
Calcium 4% Iron 5%
Nutrition Grade A-
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet
