Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

I’ve been terrible with the blogging recently, I’ll admit. The past two days since I’ve been home, I’ve been bustling about the minute I get home, primarily because I never get home until at the very least 7 pm. Why so late? Well I’ve been kicking my butt at the gym! I’ve given myself a sort of work-out schedule:

M/W/F: Treadmill Training for 5k, Elliptical for 15, Stairmaster for 15. Weightlifting

T/Thurs: Bike for 30, Elliptical for 30, Stairmaster for 15. Sculpting workout dvd

I’ve been good at sticking to my workouts, with the exception of less stair-mastering because all but one are broken at my gym currently. I need to get in an outdoor run this weekend; it’s my last weekend before the 5k! The problem is this weather isn’t a huge motivator for me to get outside, and now they’re saying it’s going to rain or snow this weekend?!?! Enough, winter, enough; I need to get my run on.

Moving on, I’ve made some delicious eats these past few days. Monday for dinner, I made the cauliflower mash but threw in some beets along with the cauliflower. The beets were a great addition, they made the dish much creamier. I used to beet juice from the can to make pickled eggs for lunch the next day. Last night, I made a vegetable ragout recipe that I got from Self Magazine (but I amped up the spice with some added cayenne). Also made my first batch of completely homemade brownies for the bf. Now they aren’t too wonderful, mainly because they were a slimmed down version, but with some banana soft serve/homemade chocolate syrup they should be amazing.

Pickled Beet Eggs

Ingredients

3 eggs

1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar

8.5 ounce can of beet juice

1/4 cup of sugar

1 tsp of salt

Directions

Hardboil the eggs. I’d provide instructions, but I’m sort of a terrible hard boiler. As a general rule I submerge the eggs in water, bring the eggs to a rolling boil, then set it to simmer for 10 minutes, and remove it from the heat, continuing to let it sit. Combine the vinegar, sugar, beet juice, and salt in a pot and set to boil. After it boils and the sugar is dissolved, remove the pot from the heat and set the pot aside to cool. When the pickling juice is pretty much cooled, put it into a container. Peel the eggs and place in the pickling container. Throw in the fridge overnight. The next day your eggs will be a nice, creepy pink but tasty! I also threw in some onions with the eggs which definitely added some flavor to the sandwich I made the next day.

Vegetable Ragout (Courtesy of Self Magazine)

Ingredients

1 cup of chopped tomatoes

1/2 cup of chopped onions

1 cup of chickpeas (drained)

1/2 cup of vegetable broth

1/2 cup of water

1 tbsp of minced garlic

1 tbsp of cayenne pepper

1/2 cup of spinach

1/2 cup of frozen peas

Directions

Take ingredients and put into a large pot. Simmer for around 30 minutes, stirring frequently. Take out and eat up.

Healthier(?) Brownies

Ingredients

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
4 tablespoons smart balance light
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
2 egg whites
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients (except chips and walnuts), mix thoroughly. Afterwards mix in the chocolate chips and walnuts. Put into a a pan (beforehand spray it with pam so the brownies won’t stick, I forgot to do this). Let it bake for around 20 minutes. Take it out of the oven and let it cool.

