Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

This weekend, my friend Eleanor is visiting me. She and I have been good friends since high school, so it was so great that she decided to come see me in Philly! She’s more of an meat eater than I am, but I decided to cook vegetarian for her. I made her vegetarian sloppy joe’s with tempeh, paired with some kale chips. Surprisingly enough, she liked it!  This morning we went out for brunch, Eleanor’s favorite meal. We went to North Third in Northern Liberties. We ordered mango mimosas and omelettes. All of our mimosas did not have enough juice in them whatsoever, which was pretty disappointing. I ordered the mushroom and spinach omelette with goat cheese, which was decent. I really loved the fact that I could taste the goat cheese. The restaurant was pretty funky, and it looks like it would be a great place to grab a drink.

After brunch, we headed to Fresh Grocer and loaded up on fruit. We picked up blueberries, raspberries, grapes, pineapple, blackberries, and chocolate dip. Needless to say, we spent the afternoon “fruitting it up” while watching “Black Swan.” I also picked up some coconut water, and I love it, just the bit of refreshment I  needed.

Tonight it’s mexican food! I’m excited to see what Philly has to offer!

