Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Well, I got my food stamps! Before I list the crazy amount of groceries that I got (and trust me, it’s crazy) I’ll recap the past week. I ran my 5k! Had no problem running the entire distance and did so in under 10 minute miles! I honestly loved it; it was freezing but awesome having like 100+ running partners/competitors. I also picked up a bunch of free stuff which I loved: greek yog, 2 water bottles, a t shirt, a kind bar (which was delicious), a cliff bar, and a bunch more. It was a great experience, and I plan on running another one in a month, followed by an 8k in July.

Sunday is when I went to Trader Joe’s and spent 88.76 in food stamps. Yes, absurd.. but Trader Joe’s is just a wonderful place.

I picked up:

2 seaweed snack packages
kumquats
cannellini beans
pearl tomatoes
carrots
soy chorizo
hot and sweet mustard
almond butter
smoked herring filet
maryland style crabcakes
seafood mix
turkey meatballs
masala veggie burgers
eggplant cutlets
multigrain english muffins
celery hearts
gorgonzola gnocchi
vegetable gyoza
edamame with red chile
hummus
whole wheat pasta
red pepper and tomato soup
bag of gala apples
bag of yellow onions
liced white mushrooms
multigrain rustico bread (so delicious)
Goat cheese ravioli
cocoa coffee
earth balance
puffins cereal
refried black beans
Tj's roasted garlic marinara
Eggplant red pepper spread

I also went to Whole Foods and Fresh Grocer and picked up:

Graduates sweet potato baby cereal
2 cans of pumpkin
wraps
stevia sweetener
coconut oil
kale
bananas
almond milk
greek yogurt
siracha sauce
nutritional yeast

And tonight I was exhausted and craving some comfort food, so I decided to try and make some mac n cheese.. with a twist: vegan.

Vegan Mac n Cheese

Ingredients

2 tbsp of hummus

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

3/4 cup of whole wheat penne

1 tbsp water

1 tbsp almond milk

1/2 tbsp earth balance

Directions

Cook pasta according to instructions. Combine hummus, nutritional yeast, water, almond milk, and earth balance in a bowl and mix until combined. Cut up some veggies and throw them in there as well if you feel inclined (I cut up some tomatoes). Toss the pasta in the mixture and enjoy

