Skip to content

Sign of Fatness

Loving Food and Living Cheaply

Again, it’s been forever since I’ve blogged… Mostly because my life has been consumed with applying to jobs when I have any free time. I’ll be a better blogger one of these days, but either way wish me luck on the job hunt!

Workout Plan

Monday of this week I headed to yoga. I bought a groupon a few weeks ago for 10 power vinyasa classes. What I didn’t know… they’re hot. It’s not quite bikram, but the room is heated to 95 degrees which is still no joke. So far I’ve taken 2 classes and I LOVE it. It’s hard, it’s sweaty, but completely rewarding. My body gets a good workout, and it gives me the opportunity to work on my balance and focus.

I’ve also decided to do a 10k Training Plan. I’m not currently signed up for one, but if I want to run a half (preferably in the fall), I really need to up my running game. I’m using Hal Higdon’s 10k, with some minor changes. Saturdays won’t be cross fit, they will most likely be my rest day instead of Friday, and I’m switching my easy run day from Thurs to Tues. Also for Monday’s Stretch, I will be going to yoga classes. So far so good this week! Hopefully I stick to it.

Food Plan

Last week I was running pretty low on food, and when I got my food stamps I wasted no time going to Trader Joe’s. I get 200/mon in food stamps, which I attempt to budget. I budgetted 100 for TJ’s (because I’m considering doing a cleanse), but I definitely spent 130… oops. I picked up all kinds of goodies/a plethora of fruits and veggies. I feel like recently I’ve been baking toooooo much and need to cut the calories/overeating down. My plan so far? I’m giving up desserts, except for fruits (and this bean brownie recipe I’m trying out). I’ll be doing this for a month or so, so to be continued…

Anyway, thanks to my grocery store binge I’ve been eating pretty well (it’s been 2 days, but you know..). I’ve had the same thing for breakfast twice, but I sorta love it. And last night’s dinner was great: TJ’s veggie burger (so good and hearty), two slices of whole wheat rustico bread for a bun, tomatoes, and a side salad of tomatoes spinach and cabbage with a dollup of hummus. I drank some coconut water on the side, and had frozen banana ice cream with 2 dates (pureed frozen banana with 2 tbsp of almond milk).

Back to the dessert I’m diggin…. Cookie Dough Oatmeal!

Cookie Dough Oatmeal

Ingredients

1/4 cup steel cut oats

1 tbsp almond butter

1/2 tbsp vanilla protein powder

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 packet of stevia (i use a little less)

pinch of salt

1/2 cup of almond milk

toppings: whatever you’d like, I had strawberries yesterday, blueberries today… mm.

Directions

Combine ingredients in a bowl. Stir well. Then nuke it in the microwave for 2 1/2 minutes (depends on your microwave, mine is really old/weird).


